Member made, member led.

The Ohio Nurses Association is truly a member-driven association.  Led by the Board of Directors and supported by several councils and committees, ONA relies on our membership to light the way.  All councils and committees are staffed by ONA but piloted by ONA nurses.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Ohio Nurses Association consists of 15 members: the officers of the association and 10 directors that are members of ONA, at least 5 of which meet the criteria for appointment to the Economic and General Welfare Commission.

Executive Board

President – Brian Burger, Cincinnati
1st Vice President – Janice Lanier, Westervilel
2nd Vice President – Shelly Malberti, Euclid
Secretary – Joyce Powell, Cuyahoga Falls
Treasurer – Janet Timmons, Columbus

Mary Bales, Lima
Jessica Frymyer, Orient
Iris Marcentile, Coshocton
Jeannette Porter, Cincinnati
Robert Weitzel, Cincinnati

Paula Anderson, Westerville
Benitha Garrett, North Olmstead
Gina Severino, Canfield
Barb Welch, Lancaster

New Nurse

Holly Renninger, Uniontown

Primary Staff
Lori Chovanak, CEO

Committees, Councils & More

Are you a member interested in getting involved? Read on to learn more about ONA’s volunteer-driven committees and councils.

To volunteer, complete this form and email to Pam Danielson at

Health Policy Council

Members of the Health Policy Council serve two years and are deeply involved in both our legislative and political activities. Specifically, the Council does the following, among other duties:

  • Evaluate proposed federal, state and local legislation for its implication for nurses, nursing and health care and make recommendations to the Board of Directors.
  • Advise the Board of Directors, structural units and districts on legislative and political issues.
  • Promote appointment of qualified nurses to key leadership positions in government, industry, state and health related foundations and consumer organizations.
  • Implement the political endorsement process.

HPC Members 2015-2016

Jan Lanier, Chair, Westerville

Jill Beavers-Kirby, Grove City

Kris Cope, Gahanna

Peggy Halter, Tallmadge

Sharon Hawkins, Englewood

       Shelly Malberti, Euclid

Teresa Monnin, Celina

Carol Smith, Youngstown

Yvonne Smith, Canton

Sarah Strohminger, Mansfield

Jacinta Tucker, Midvale

Linda Warino, Canfield

       Seth Watson, Southgate, KY

Teresa Wood, Newark

Economic and General Welfare Commission

The Commission oversees the Economic and General Welfare Program of ONA.  The commissioners must be collective bargaining members and are responsible for the following, among other duties:

  • Developing economic and employment standards and policies.
  • Establishing procedures for economic and welfare complaints.
  • Providing information and counseling regarding employment conditions.
  • Evaluating and revising the Economic and General Welfare Program and policies.

The official description of the Commission and its duties are found in the ONA bylaws.


Mary Bales, Lima

Iris Marcentile, Coshocton

Jeannette Porter, Cincinnati

Robert Weitzel, Cincinnati

Jessica Frymyer, Westerville

Laurie Hornberger, Youngstown

Jacinta Tucker, Midvale

Rick Lucas, Columbus

CE Council

The CEC consists of member who meet the most current accreditation and approval criteria and rules for peer reviewers.  The CEC shall, among other duties,:

  • Study and evaluate matters relating to continuing education and recommend appropriate action.
  • Oversee the approval process for individual continuing education activities and providers of continuing education.
  • Identify the need for state legislation in the field of continuing education.

The official description of the CEC and its duties are found in the ONA bylaws.

Members of the CEAC

Terry Pope, Chair

Joyce Alley, Carmel, IN

Lucinda Cave, Cleveland Heights

Pam Dickerson, Westerville

Ann Dugan, Parma

Catherine Jones, Cincinnati

Diane Moyer, Worthington

Lauren Rafeld, Ashland

Gail Rhodes, Hilliard

Council on Practice

The Council on Practice consists of members with a mixture of clinical backgrounds.  The COP is tasked with, among other duties,:

  • Interpreting professional standards of practice within the state and devising means for putting these into effect.
  • Assisting nurses in implementing the ANA Code of Ethics.
  • Working with groups on issues related to nursing practice.
  • Receiving and taking action upon complaints and problems of nursing practice.

The official description of the Council on Practice and its duties are found in the ONA bylaws.

Members of the Council on Practice

Jean Ansley, Lima

Janet Boeckman, Mansfield

Angela Chesser, Columbus

Linda Council, Cleveland

Amber Essman, Grove City

Teresa Monnin, Celina

Sally Morgan, Columbus

Kevin Primer, Seville

Gina Prosser, Painesville

Linda Riazi-Kermani, Akron

Gina Severino, Canfield

Amy Sue Taylor, Westerville

Amber Wick, North Olmsted

Ohio Nurses Review Committee

The ONR Committee sets the direction and editorial content of ONA’s official publication, the Ohio Nurses Review. Members meet every other month to collaborate on content and also write article to be published in the magazine. If you love to write, this committee is for you!